Uganda’s Eddy Kenzo brings the first BET Awards in East Africa

Author: Inyarwanda
On:29/06/2015 12:18
0 0 0 0 0 Loading... 0

The last night was the golden night, the same as that of March 2nd 2014 when the East Africans were celebrating the Lupita Nyongos Oscar win as Eddy Kenzo was bringing to the East Africa the first BET Award as a Viewer's Choice Best New International Artist.

The 2015 BET Awards Ceremony held at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles on Sunday evening saw the East African, Uganda’s Eddy Kenzo, the Sitya Loss hit-maker as the first winner of the newly introduced category in which the singer contended with two Africans namely South Africa's Cassper Nyovest, Ghana's Mz Vee and three from the UK ‘George The Poet, MIC Lowry and Novelist.’

Kenzo BET win

Eddy Kenzo (2nd left) poses with his BET Award at the event

An elated Kenzo, the fans decided winner took to social to thank his fans for voting for him.

"Before I say anything let me dedicate this award to all Ugandans wherever you are in the world, it has been a long journey; it's the first of its kind in East Africa. This is for Uganda, Uganda really needed this. To all my fans all over the world thanks for the support and the voting May God bless you. Am coming home God is the greatest."

The ‘Sitya Loss’ singer is still riding the wave of his hit single that had a video so captivating with well-choreographed dancing kids.

The video garnered global attention and over 7 million YouTube views, making it the highest viewed Ugandan video here and fifth in Africa last year. The video also draw the attention of international cerebrities, and among many there is Ellen DeGeneres and Sean Combs.

Check the full list of winners:

Viewers’ Choice Best New International Artist
Casper Nyovest
Eddy Kenzo**
George the Poet
Mic Lowry

Best International Act UK
FKA Twigs
Fuse ODG
Lethal Bizzle
Little Simz

Best International Act Africa
Fally Ipupa
Sauti Sol
The Soil
Yemi Alade

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Janelle Monáe
Jhene Aiko
K. Michelle

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
Chris Brown
Trey Songz
The Weekend
August Alsina
John Legend

Best Group
A$AP Mob
Rae Sremmurd
Rich Gang
Young Money

Best Collaboration
Chris Brown Ft. Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
Big Sean Ft. E-40 – “IDFWU”
August Alsina Ft. Nicki Minaj – “No Love”
Chris Brown Ft. Usher and Rick Ross – “New Flame”
Common and John Legend – “Glory”
Mark Ronson Ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”

Best Male Hip Hop Artist
Kendrick Lamar
Big Sean
J. Cole

Best Female Hip Hop Artist
Azealia Banks
Dej Loaf
Iggy Azalea
Nicki Minaj

Video Of The Year
Beyonce – “7/11”
Big Sean Ft. E-40 – “IDFWU”
Chris Brown Ft. Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
Chris Brown Ft. Usher and Rick Ross – “New Flame”
Common and John Legend – “Glory”
Nicki Minaj – “Anaconda”

Video Director Of The Year
Benny Boom
Beyonce, Ed Burke and Todd Tourso
Chris Robinson
Fatima Robinson
Hype Williams

Best New Artist
Bobby Shmurda
Dej Loaf
Fetty Wap
Rae Sremmurd
Sam Smith

Best Gospel Artist
Michelle Williams
Erica Campbell
Deitrick Haddon
Fred Hammond
Mali Music

Best Actress
Gabrielle Union
Kerry Washington
Taraji P. Henson
Tracee Ellis Ross
Viola Davis

Best Actor
Anthony Anderson
Idris Elba
Jussie Smollet
Kevin Hart
Terrence Howard

Youngstars Award
Jacob Latimore
Jaden Smith
Mo’ne Davis
Quvenzhane Wallis
Zendaya Coleman

Best Movie
“Beyond the Lights”
“Think Like a Man Too”
“Top Five”

Sportswoman Of The Year
Brittney Griner
Candace Parker
Serena Williams
Skylar Diggins
Venus Williams

Sportsman Of The Year
Chris Paul
Floyd Mayweather Jr.
LeBron James
Marshawn Lynch
Stephen Curry

Viewer’s Choice Award
The Weekend –“Earned It”
Kendrick Lamar – “I”
Dej Loaf – “Try Me”
Rae Sremmurd Ft. Nicki Minaj and Young Thug – “Throw Sum Mo”
Beyonce –“7/11”
Nicki Minaj Ft. Drake, Lil Wayne and Chris Brown – “Only”

Centric Award
Avery Sunshine – “Call My Name”
Jazmine Sullivan Ft. Meek Mill – “Dumb”
Mark Ronson Ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”
Sam Smith Ft. Mary J. Blige –“Stay With Me”
The Weekend – “Earned It”

 Mutiganda Janvier

Follow me on Twitter @jannkunda




About Author Email