Rtd.Brig.Gen. Sekamana & Rurangirwa approved to vie for FERWAFA presidency

Posted By: Saddam MIHIGO - On:09/03/2018
Two candidates Rtd. Brig. Gen. Jean Damascene Sekamana and Rurangirwa Louis have been approved to contest for the presidency of Rwanda Football Federation (FERWAFA).

The FERWAFA Electoral Commission confirmed the development in a media briefing held on Friday, March 9, 2018 at FERWAFA Headquarters in Remera, Kigali City.

The FERWAFA Electoral Commission Vice President Boniface Nsabimana said, “We are officially declaring Rtd. Brig. Gen. Jean Damascene Sekamana and Rurangirwa Louis as eligible candidates allowed to contest for the presidency of FERWAFA,”

“The two candidates have met all the Electoral Code requirements and they are allowed to start campaigning from March 12 until March 30, 2018. We have asked them to exercise professionalism and discipline during the campaign process,” added Nsabimana.

Retired Brig. Gen. Sekamana who served as the president of SC Kiyovu and vice president of Bugesera Fc in recent years, is the vice president of second division cub Intare Fc.

Rurangirwa, a former referee was recommended by the Rwanda Referees Association (ARAF).

The electoral commission also announced the list of executive committee members for the two candidates.

If any of the two candidates is elected, their executive Committee will be composed of the following:

Candidate Rtd.Brig.Gen.Sekamana
1. Rtd.Brig.Gen. J.Damascene (Intare Fc) - President
2. Mr. Habyarimana Matiku Marcel (Espoir Fc) - Vice President
3. Eng. Nshimiyimana Alexis Redamptus (Miroplast Fc) - Technical Development Commission
4. Mr. Ruhamiriza Eric (La Jeunesse) - Competitions Commission
5. Mme. Kankindi Alida Lise (Rambura Wfc) - Finance Commission
6. Mme. Rwakunda Quinta (Giticyinyoni)- Marketing Commission
7. Me. Gumisiriza Hilary (United Stars)-Legal Commission
8. Mrs. Mukangoboka Christine (Isonga Fc)-Women Football Commission
9. Mr. Hakizimana Moussa (AEFR)-Medical Commission
10. IP Ntakirutimana Diane (Police Fc)-Security and Fair Play Commission

Candidate Rurangirwa
1. Rurangirwa Louis (ARAF)-President
2. Munyemana G. Pascal (Rugende WFC)-Vice President
3. Dr. Zimulinda Alain (Rugende Fc)-Medical Commission
4. Me. Hakizimana John –Legal Commission
5. Uwizeye Sylvestre (Unity Fc)- Marketing Commission
6. Rutagarama Mediatrice (Youvia WFc)-Women Football Commission
7. Mureramanzi Felicite –Commission Finance
8. Nkurunziza Benoit –Technical Development Commission
9. Murengerantwali Dominique (Amagaju Fc)-Competition Commission
10. Mukunzi Emile (Kirehe Fc)-Security and Fair Play Commission

The term of office for the President and his Executive Committee who will be elected on March 31, 2018 will be a four-year term renewable three times only.

The FERWAFA elections will be held for a second time after the first elections were held on December 30, 2017 but failed to produce an outright winner with sole candidate Rwemalika Felicite failing to garner the majority vote to be elected the president of FERWAFA.

Nzamwita Vincent has been president of Rwanda Football Federation since January 2014.

Post a Comment


Terms and conditions are applied

Article of the Day

An Omani travelling the world on a motorbike without his country support mentioned that Rwanda is the beautiful country in Africa-VIDEO
As so many people are doing various things to break the Guinness De Record, an Omani man named Maher Al-Barwani decided to travel the entire world by using his motorbike. The sad thing is that his country, Oman is not helping him through.
SpecialCoverage | Dec 27th 2017, 16:48

Most Read News